Minimum insurance requirements in Texas:
One of the biggest states in the US with road networks and highways stretching over thousands of miles, Texas is surely one of the most populous states in the US. Being extremely busy all year round, the road networks in Texas witness a soaring number of accidents. This is the reason why auto insurance in Texas is a legal requirement. Following is the minimum level of auto insurance you must have when driving in Texas:
- $30,000 for bodily injury per individual in an accident
- $60,000 for bodily injury for all individuals in an accident
- $25,000 for damage to property during an accident
- $2500 for personal injury protection
- $30,000/$60,000 for uninsured motorist bodily injury liability
- $25,000 and a minimum $250 deductible uninsured motorist property damage liability
Apart from this, you can have comprehension and collision coverage in order to fully protect yourself, your property as well as others and their property.
Consequences of not having auto insurance:
It is a state requirement to show proof of auto insurance whenever asked for. Failure to do so can land you into serious trouble. For first time offenders, the fine can be up to $350. If this offense is repeated, the license can be suspended for as long as two years. Thanks to the advancement in technology, the state maintains a database with the help of which it keeps a track of those who fail to show proof of auto insurance.
How to get cheap auto insurance in Texas:
Auto insurance is an inevitable expense. However, there are ways to cut auto insurance expenses. There are a number of factors that influence how much premium you will be paying. Here are some of these factors.
- The type of car you possess influences the rate of premium you will be charged. Luxury cars are charged higher premiums as they have high maintenance and replacement costs. On the other hand, sedans, SUVs and second-hand robust cars are cheaper to insure.
- Your driving pattern, history, and habits also influence your insurance premium. If you happen to use your car more often your insurance premium shall go up. If you have a clean driving history with few or no traffic violations your insurance premium is likely to below. Insurance premium for those who have recently learned driving is also likely to be high since they are risky to insure.
- The driver’s age, gender, occupation, and area of residence all influence the insurance premium level. Young drivers are riskier to insure so are charged a higher premium. Some occupations that are involved in public service and their profession is considered as noble also benefit from a lower premium. For instance, police officers, nurses, doctors, and army officers are charged a lower premium.
- There are many other ways you can benefit from lower premiums. By installing safety equipment such as anti-theft devices and alarms insurance premiums can be lowered. Similarly, by bundling all your insurance policies with a single firm you can benefit from hefty discounts.
Know the new driving laws in Texas before you get auto insurance:
Traffic rules and regulations are very important to follow for your own as well as the safety of others. To ensure public safety the law enforcing departments come up with new laws and regulations every now and then. It is very important to keep yourself up to date with these laws so that you can make effective decisions with regard to auto insurance.
In Texas, there is a ban on texting and using cell phone whether hand-held or hands-free for learner drivers whereas, in school zones the use of cell phones is prohibited for all drivers. Failure to do so can cause fine up to $200. In case of hit and run accident, the penalty has increased up to $10,000. The severity of the situation can cause imprisonment from 2 to 20 years.